Bob Saur Named Robert Lincoln Award Recipient

Londonderry Trailways President Bob Saur has been named this year’s Robert Lincoln Award Winner.

The award honors Bob Lincoln for his over four decades of volunteer service for the youth of Londonderry and recognizes those who best exemplify the spirit of Lincoln’s years of volunteerism, as well as persons who demonstrate over a sustained period of time the characteristics of leadership, volunteerism and devotion to the Town of Londonderry and especially the youth of the community.

“I met Bob when I was in the Lions Club 25 years ago,” Saur said. “It’s quite an honor to be chosen for that award.”

According to the Robert W. Lincoln Award Selection Committee, Saur has selflessly dedicated himself to the residents and children of Londonderry. He has served for many years in both the Cub Scouts and the Boy Scouts. Saur particularly enjoyed the annual winter camping trip he led to the White Mountains.

Saur served as the President of the Friends of Londonderry Music during the band’s last trip to the Rose Bowl. He is involved with the Londonderry Trailways, serving as president.

“I was surprised to be informed of my selection,” Saur said last week. “I’ve been honored to serve with the Boy Scouts and Trailways, and it really is an honor. Over the years I’ve been involved with Friends of Music over at the high school, which is a parent booster club for the music program. I was Assistant Scoutmaster when my sons were involved, but I continue to be involved with Boy Scouts’ Eagle Service projects that are being done in the community. These are all youth service projects that benefit the community.”

Saur said he grew up in a family where his parents were both involved in the community.

“My parents were both involved with church and other community organizations and it just comes naturally, just something you do to help out the town you live in,” he said. “Londonderry is very fortunate, we have a lot of people who do an awful lot for the community.”

To be considered for the award, the nominee must have demonstrated more than 10 years active service to the community, must have been in a position of responsibility during this period, should have demonstrated devotion to the youth of Londonderry and must have demonstrated the spirit of volunteerism.

The award will be presented at the Londonderry High School spring pep rally on Friday, April 25, at 8:30 a.m. in the LHS gym.

Past recipients of the Lincoln Award are Kay Doyle, Terri Roucheleau, Scott Hale, Mary Theos, Dave Kelly, Ron Campo, John Reynolds, Bob Slater, Gary Fisher and Kevin Foley.

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below and subscribe to our newsletter