Londonderry Summer Hockey League Crew Wins a Championship

In its very first season playing in the New Hampshire Junior Monarchs’ High School Summer Hockey League the Londonderry Orange squad proved to be better than the other ten teams in the league in winning the championship.

The locals, who were led by head coach Jim Cotter and his assistant Jeremy Seibert, overcame a 1-0 deficit by scoring three unanswered goals in the second and third periods in handing the Bedford squad a 3-1 defeat in the title contest played at the Tri-Town Arena in Hooksett on Thursday, Aug. 23.

The trophy-hoisting Londonderry squad, which was made up entirely of players from the Londonderry High School ice hockey program, saw Bedford bag the only goal of the first period. But the locals answered with the tying goal from Patrick Murphy and the go-ahead tally by Zac Rheault in the second period, and Anthony Federico added an insurance marker on an open netter at the end of period three. Goalie Cam Donovan did strong work between the pipes for the champs.

Both LHS and Bedford squads went 10-2 over the course of the season, with John Stark rounding out third place at 9-2-1. Londonderry scored a total of 74 goals during the summer and gave up less than half of that with 34.

Along with the aformentioned players, the large title-winning Londonderry crew included Patrick Cohen, Jack Beirne, Connor Paiton, Nick Pitarys, Brandon Savage, Michael Ziv, Ethan Cohen, Kevin Griffin, Austin Cardosi, Joey Stowell, Jack Thompson, Derek Felix, Evan Cotter, Cole Ferguson, Matt Naso, Sam Seibert, Kyle Hamilton, and Jake Holland.

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below and subscribe to our newsletter