Police Officers, Civilians Honored At Ceremony

At a ceremony held at the Londonderry Police Station, police officers and civilians were honored for their service to the department and the community. Civilians Douglas Ball, Bernie Rouillard, Robert Maiella, Michael Elliot, James Ornsteen and Craig Dempsey received Civilian Commendations for Lifesaving and Valor for their efforts to extricate Laurie Donofrio from her car after it went off the road and into a brook on Gilcreast Road. The six men rocked the vehicle back and forth until Donofrio’s head was clear of the water in which she was submerged, and by breaking a window were able to get her out of the car and onto shore before rescue crews arrived. Donofrio attended the Monday evening ceremony and personally thanked each of the men.

The Officer of the Year Award was presented to Sgt. Adam Dyer, an 11-year veteran in the department, who was a U.S. Army military policeman and a part-time officer in Sandown prior to coming to Londonderry. Dyer is unit supervisor of the Traffic Reconstruction Team and previously served as a field training officer, detective, and drug recognition expert. He has received Officer of the Year several times. The Civilian of the Year Award went to Telecommunications Officer Jason Pinault, who has been with the department for over 12 years and has received this award previously.

Officer Eric Arel and Telecommunications Officer Jason Pinault were given a Meritorious Service Commendation and Sgt. Glenn L. Aprile, Detective Sean P. Doyle, Officer Randy S. Duguay, Officer Jason Teufel, Detective Christopher Olson and Telecommunications Officer Maria Schacht received a Distinguished Unit Citation for their involvement in response to an accident on Interstate 93 on Aug. 22, 2012, which involved the death of a child who ran across the road.

The Lifesaving Award was presented to Officer Daniel Hurley for assisting in life-saving measures after coming upon a motorcycle accident in Manchester while off duty on Sept. 14, 2012. Hurley also was honored for saving the life of a choking victim at a Mason restaurant while off duty on Sept. 28, 2012, just two weeks after the first incident.
Officer Jason Teufel received a commendation for his efforts in assisting in the medical care of a motorcyclist who was bleeding from the head at an I-293 accident in Bedford on Oct. 5, 2012.

A Distinguished Unit Citation was given to Sgt. Mark Morrison; Detectives Scott Balukonis, Kristen Gore, Christopher Olson, and Donald Laduke; Sgt. Shannon Coyle; Canine Patrol Officer John Perry and his canine officer Mingo; Officer Nelson Jimenez; Officer Nicholas Pinardi; Sgt. Adam Dyer; Detective Sean Doyle and Officer Alvin Bettencourt for their work in a drug and narcotics investigation at a large business in Londonderry.

Also honored with a Commendation Bar for Meritorious Service were Hudson Police Officers Brian Morgan, Adam Lischinsky and Hudson dispatcher Sheri MacPherson for their help in apprehending the suspect in a Citizens Bank bank robbery on Dec. 4, 2012. A welfare check at 11 Clark Road on Oct. 4, 2012 garnered Officer Christopher Wiggin a Letter of Commendation for his efforts in ensuring the wellbeing of a senior citizen.

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter