Primary Election Set For Sept. 9

The New Hampshire primary election will be held Tuesday, Sept. 9, and voters can cast their ballots at the Londonderry High School gymnasium from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Residents can register to vote on Primary Day at the polls.

Deputy Town Clerk Kathleen Donnelly said no party affiliation changes will be accepted at the polls, but undeclared voters can request either a Democratic or Republican ballot. After they vote they can change back to an undeclared designation; if they do not, they will remain listed with the party they voted.

Donnelly said that in order to register to vote, a resident must be 18 years old by Election Day. Proof of citizenship, such as a passport or birth certificate, photo I.D. and proof of residency are required, but affidavits are available in the event of missing documents.

The winners of each race will face each other in the November election.

Candidates on the ballot are:


Governor: incumbent Maggie Hassan, Clecia Terrio, and Ian Freeman.

U.S. Senator: incumbent Jeanne Shaheen.

U.S. Congress, 1st District: incumbent Carol Shea-Porter.

Executive Councilor: Maria A. Chilson and incumbent Christopher Pappas.

State Senator, District 14, covering Auburn, Hudson and Londonderry: Kate Messner of Hudson.

State Representative, 7 seats: Denise K. Grady, Tam Siekmann, Paul Skudlarek, Robin Skudlarek, Gary Vermillion, Lisa I. Whittemore, Ted Combes.

County Sheriff: Dante Mazzari.

County Attorney: Joe Plaia.

County Treasurer: Maureen Barrows

County Register of Deeds: John Robinson.

County Register of Probate: Lenore Patton.

County Commissioner, District 3:  No filing.


Governor: Andrew Hemingway, Jonathan Smolin, Daniel J. Greene and Walter Havenstein.

U.S. Senator: Bob Heghmann, Walter W. Kelly, Andy Martin, Jim Rubens, Bob Smith, Gerard Beloin, Scott P. Brown, Robert D’Arcy, Miro Dziedzic and Mark W. Farnham.

U.S. Congress, 1st District: Everett Jabour, Brendan Kelly, Frank C. Guinta and Dan Innis.

Executive Councilor: Jim Adams and Robert Burns.

State Senator, District 14, covering Auburn, Hudson and Londonderry: Incumbent Sharon Carson of Londonderry.

State Representative, 7 seats: Sherman Packard, Daniel J. Tamburello, Doug Thomas, Al Baldasaro, Deirdre M. Carson, Dana Coons, Roger Fillio, Bob Introne, David C. Lundgren, and Betsy McKinney.

County Sheriff: David J. Lovejoy and Michael W. Downing.

County Attorney: Michael Zaino, Patricia Conway, Michael F. DiCroce, and  Jason Grosky.

County Treasurer: Edward Buck.

County Register of Deeds: Cathy Stacy.

County Register of Probate: Mark Laliberte.

County Commissioner, District 3: Incumbent Kevin Coyle and Kevin K. Waterhouse.

Delegates to the State Republican Convention, 7 seats: Al Baldasaro, Judy Baldasaro, Deirdre M. Carson, Gregory G. Carson, Curtis J. Litterer, Wayne D. McDonald, JoAnne Packard, Douglas Thomas, Elizabeth Thomas.

The election results will not be in before the Londonderry Times goes to press for its Sept. 11 edition. They will be posted on our website on Wednesday morning, Sept. 10.

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below and subscribe to our newsletter